

SECRETARIAT Alexandru Ion Giboi Switzerland

Mobile: +40727.876.646 E-mail: alexgiboi@gmail.com Web site: www.newsalliance.org

EANA has new Board members

27 news agencies took part in the EANA General Assembly which elected the two new EANA Board members. Ms Armela Krasniqi (ATA, Albania) and Mr Clive Marshall (PA Group, UK) were both elected for 3 years as members of the Board. Therefore, the EANA GA acknowledged that the EANA Board is from now on comprised of Mr Peter Kropsch (President, CEO of dpa, Germany), Ms Armela Krasniqi (ATA, Albania), Mr Clive Marshall (PA Group, UK), Mr Jiri Majstr (CTK, The Czech Republic) and Mr Alexandru Giboi (Secretary General).

EANA (The European Alliance of News Agencies) had its Autumn 2019 Conference and General Assembly in Prague, hosted by member agency CTK. The title of the Conference was "Al: opportunities, threats and long term perspectives for news agency strategy" and it brought together high-level top-management speakers from Columbia University (New York, USA), Reuters, Amazon Alexa, PA Group (UK), NTB (Norway), Efe (Spain), APA (Austria), ANP (The Netherlands), STA (Slovenia) and Belga (Belgium). Peter Kropsch, EANA President of EANA and CEO of dpa (Germany) appreciated the event: "This was a very good conference, with a very specific subject of great importance for the news agency business, and I was happy to see the participants engaging so much with the speakers on the different topics of discussion".

The EANA Conference benefited from the presence of the trainees from 6 member agencies (Tanjug, Ukrinform, STA, TASR, CNA, Anadolu) who took part in the first training course organised by EANA during it's events.